The Hype Behind Cold Water Exposure, and the Time I Went too Far.

The Nervous System, Hypothermia, and Beginning Stages of Shock!

Mary Clymer
8 min readMar 2, 2021

Those of us who are into the practice of Breathwork are always looking for some new and interesting practices to help us grow and expand. We are pioneers of our lung capacity that we train both mentally and physically to make us strong. But what happens when you take a practice too far?

I remember the first time I did a 15 minute breathwork recording that had me feeling as though my lungs might burst. By the end, my hands had morphed into a funky hoof formation as my entire body buzzed with energy.

I was hooked. I knew this was a path I was drawn to, as I flashed back to memories from swim team where I prided myself on my lung capacity with my long breath holds. (I could go down and back the entire length of a 25-yard pool without a breath.)

This is in my element. The excitement of building up your lung capacity and having the composure of mental strength to keep you going.

But this week I hit a wall. I went too far. Forcing myself to ask the hard questions about how I got to this place.

Cold Water Exposure and Your Breath

Over the past few years the Ice Man, Wim Hof has been making headlines around the world with his extreme cold water exposure practices. Breaking records and defying science by using his breath to control his internal state.

Not only is this charismatic man fun to listen to, but he’s walking his talk. Helping millions of people overcome the mental blocks that keep them trapped, Wim uses breathwork as his guide.

It’s no wonder he’s been making headlines. Breath is something we all have access to and can use to our benefit.

Breathwork is the only thing we do naturally that we can learn to control.

So what does cold exposure have to do with all this?

Mentally preparing your mind by warming your breath through a strong practice of intentionally led breathing techniques helps you control your thoughts when putting your body through what could be a stressful or shocking situation to your nervous system.

There are some health benefits to immersing yourself in cold water including…

  • Improved circulation
  • Improved sleep
  • Improved energy levels
  • Reduced inflammation
  • Reduced stress
  • Reduced muscle soreness

Many health and fitness practices will encourage cold showers, and we all have iced an injury at some point in our lives to bring down inflammation. We get it.

So what’s up with these ice baths?

Coldwater immersion affects your circulation, your blood pressure, and your heart rate. These are all great things, but it can also cause serious cardiac stress if you aren’t taking the proper steps to ensure your health and safety are being cared for.

This is where I let my ego get in the way of my health.

There are many reports of deaths and injuries from people not properly caring for themselves in a stress-induced situation. Everything from people passing out while performing breathwork while driving to heart attacks from undue stress on the nervous system.

For these reasons, it is always advised to partner up when exposing yourself to some more extreme breath practices.

For me, both my reasoning and emotions were affected by the cold temperatures when I tried to push myself too far.

My 12 minutes of cold exposure

Through my love for Kundalini, I started cold showers last year, so I felt ready when I did my first ice bath this past September at a Wim Hof Fundamentals Workshop led by Reed Wasser. It was terrific! Reed was an informed believer of the system and a great guide into my first plunge.

Having two girlfriends along this journey who have supported me and continued to dip along with me, I felt my willpower and ability grow.

We even challenged each other to some swimsuit time in the snow. I took to practicing tummo, where I would sit in a cold bath and intentionally warm the water around me by doing focused and intentional breathwork.

Breathwork is my power and I was using it to take me to new highs. Nothing could bring me down.

Or could it?

I was invited to an open water women’s group. A bunch of ladies who empower each other by cold dipping daily to remind themselves of how strong they are and as a form of self-care.

Naturally, I was excited to jump in.

Two days later I found myself pulling up to a dock being greeted by two smiling faces of fellow dippers. As an offering, I led the group through some heavy stimulating breath practices in an attempt to warm us up from the inside.

What I didn’t consider in my excitement was that as a leader of the breathwork I didn’t have time to properly warm myself up.

The winds were high and the water was a chilling 42 degrees. Slowly we walked into the lake in one slow steady movement as a group. Once down to our collarbone the ladies started to wade in a circle and make casual conversation about their lives. Occasionally a word or two of motivation was offered to me as the newbie.

I was having a hard time with the moving and opted to plant my feet in one spot to focus more on my breath and warming the water around me. I started to shiver, and others took note too and suggested it was time to get out.

I objected, telling them my body was just adjusting and releasing and that I was fine and could go as long as they. (They hold an average of 20–30 minutes in the water.)

I was overruled and we all got out at the 12-minute mark.

Once the frigid air blew through my exposed wet skin I knew the group made the right choice for me, and I thanked them. My body temperature continued to drop as I walked as casually as I could to my car.

The next five minutes passed as we made casual conversation. We stripped off our suits and let warm dry clothes cover our bodies.

I felt bad about dipping and running, but I knew I needed to jet home and get out of the wind.

On my short travel of five minutes back home it became apparent that I had thrown my nervous system off. The shaking happening throughout my body was uncontrollable and I couldn’t feel my legs. My head started pounding and my vision was blurred. The logical part of my brain was telling me to pull over, but the freezing part of my brain kept telling me to get home NOW.

The moment I got inside my warm home I headed for the shower. I knew not to make it too hot and I got right in. I couldn’t feel the temperature but felt my body thaw. Not in a relaxing or positive way. It stung, I couldn’t breathe and I couldn’t figure out if I was hot or cold.

Gradually I upped the temperature of the water and finally when I felt regulated I got out. To my shock and surprise, I immediately felt cold again.

I hurried up and dressed in the warmest clothes I had and made myself a cup of hot tea.

It was too late. My body was pissed off. I was shaking all day as I dealt with a fog that kept me from any kind of productive focus and a slight headache.

I couldn’t wait till the day was over and I could finally retreat to bed.

The Aftermath

The next day was better, but it wasn’t until about 48 hours had passed that my body was back to feeling regular again.

I had let my mindful practice become an ego-driven activity and was left humbled by the experience.

I knew I had another dip coming up the following weekend and I could hear myself going through all the reasons why I should cancel.

Then there was this deeper voice calling me to keep going. To acknowledge my limitations and to do it anyways. To jump back in and be led by mindfulness and not to fall back into fear.

So I did.

This time my body was too prepared for trauma. It went immediately to the shivering and a headache formed within moments of immersion. Two minutes. That’s all I needed to move past the ego and be guided back to a mindful intention.

Two minutes came and I got out. I was elated, I was strong, I was in control, and I remembered to love and care for myself as I owned my experience. This was exactly what I needed to shake the trauma off.

Self CARE

If you find yourself attracted to this kind of extreme exposure, I am here to tell you that it is fabulous. It’s energizing and will push those mental imposters aside. However, I would be doing you a disservice if I didn’t mention the danger.

When you get out of cold water your body temperature keeps dropping, so you must be mindful about where your body is. You must have a process for how you plan to warm up once you’re out.

Have warm clothes ready and get out of your wet suit.

Breathwork can sometimes feel like a competition. Who can hold their breath the longest? But it’s about personal expansion and growth. Adding a cold exposure element to that creates the same sort of competition.

The truth is, the competition is with yourself.

You only need a few minutes of cold water exposure to get the health benefits. Gradually you can increase your time in the cold as your tolerance grows. So check yourself and don’t try to do too much too soon as I did. I was comparing myself to women who had a daily practice for months that has led them to the 20–30 minutes exposure.

If you do that you might lose value in the experience and be turned off to what could be a very beneficial practice for your health.

Don’t do what I did. Keep your practice mindful and set your ego aside. This is why we move to pranayama (breathwork) practices. As a guide to our inner strength, not as a tool for our ego.

As with all things, make sure you are acting from a place of self-care and self-love. Use this practice to discover how mentally strong you are and stay safe and healthy so you can receive the true benefits you are bringing to your nervous system, instead of throwing yourself off track.

--

--

Mary Clymer

Breathwork Coach, Pulmonaut Explorer, & Content Creator. Taking it one breath at a time. Join me at breath_mindset.com